Making Google + and +1 Better Together

Combining Google+ and +1 has always seemed like a no-brainer to me. They both have a + in their name, for Pete’s sake! But us Google+ users have seen little use for the previously released +1 button (that little box that lets you “recommend” a page to friends much like Facebook’s “like” button). Up until now.

Today, Google announced a new feature of the +1 button that directly affects, in a positive way, Google+ users – you can share directly to Google+ via the box that opens when you click on a web page’s +1 button. When you click on the “share to Google+” link in the box, you will get a link, a bit of text describing the link and an image, which will appear in your Google+ stream when you “ok” the share. No more grabbing URLs, navigating to Google+ and manually adding the link into your status box. Now there really is a reason to click on that +1 button – easy Google+ sharing.

Google is also releasing to publishers and designers the ability to edit the shared “snippet” via code for each page of a site. This gives control to the owner of the site over the content that ultimately is shared to Google+. Nice for both the user and the publisher.

Check out the announcement below. The feature will roll out over the next few days / week, but you can get an early view if you head over and sign up for the Google+ Platform Preview. Now they just need to figure out a way to catalog +1’s within Google+, so we can all keep a record of what we like.

Advertisements

Your Personal Window On The World of "Likes"

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...
Image via CrunchBase

“Liking” is everywhere. On Facebook. In the news. And now, on a website near you. I wrote about installing my own “like” button on my business site, AdvantageAdvocates, last week (link here).

Do you want to see what people you know and love and trust are liking across the Web? Check out LikeButton.me.  This site collects the “likes” of friends across the web in a one-page dashboard of sorts. Quickly view what your friends think.

Before you privacy nuts go crazy, remember that the information sent by Facebook across the web is the same information that shows on your default Facebook public profile, which has was already publicly available prior to the changes. If you are uncertain of whether you want to share, then hit up your privacy settings in your Facebook profile under Account, and make sure you check the privacy settings on your Applications too.And remember as well, that “internet” and “privacy” are oxymoronic terms!

Happy surfing!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]